Join EchinoClub Monthly Forums
Click here to close Hello! We notice that you are using Internet Explorer, which is not supported by Echinobase and may cause the site to display incorrectly. We suggest using a current version of Chrome, FireFox, or Safari.
Echinobase

Join EchinoClub Monthly Forums

The new EchinoClub organizers are planning a monthly series of seminars and discussions.

Catherine Schrankel

Margherita Perillo

Zak Swartz

Vanessa Barone

Sessions will be at 2pm UTC for 90 minutes and feature one or two lab groups presenting their work leaving time for discussion and community building.

Register HERE and a link will be sent the day before the meeting, if you have registered for a previous meeting then you do not need to register again.

 

Schedule 

June 24, 2022

July 29, 2022

 

Past presentations

The Yi-Hsien Su Lab presented on Friday January 21, 2022 at 3pm UTC.

Speakers: Yi-Hsien Su, Han-Ru Li, Tzu-Pei Fan

Title: Evolution of Deuterostome Body Plans: Insights from developmental and genomic studies in sea urchin and hemichordate embryos

 

The Hamdoun Lab presented on Friday December 10, 2021 at 3pm UTC.

Speakers: Yoon Lee, Cat Schrankel, Himanshu Vyas, Amro Hamdoun

Title: Protective mechanisms during echinoderm development and the generation of a homozygous mutant drug transporter knockout line.

The recording is available here. The passcode is 9fQ..JX8

 

The José E. García Arrarás Lab (UPR) presented at EchinoClub on Friday October 22, 2021 at 2pm UTC.

Speakers: José E. García-Arrarás, Lymarie Díaz-Díaz, Yamil Miranda-Negrón, Joshua Medina-Feliciano

Title: Regeneration in holothurians; a different view of echinoderm development

The talk was recorded and is available here. The passcode is J!E5=y8m

 

Echinobase presented on Friday September 24, 2021 at 2pm UTC and the recording is here.

Speakers: Veronica Hinman, Saoirse Foley, Peter Vize, Vaneet Lotay, Charles Ettensohn, Thomas Beatman and Cheryl Telmer

Title: Echinobase, a genomics knowledgebase.

 

The Arnone lab presented on Tuesday July 13th, 2021.

Speakers: Maria Cocurullo, Periklis Paganos, Danila Voronov and Ina Arnone

Title:  Gene regulatory networks in development and evolution

 

The Wray lab presented on Friday June 18, 2021.

Speakers: Phillip Davidson, Hannah Devens, Abdull Massri, Jane Swart, and Greg Wray

Title: What can extreme biology teach us about the evolution of development?

 

On May 28, 2021 there was a presentation from Shunsuke Yaguchi, at 2pm UTC (7am PDT, 10am EDT, 4pm CEST, 11pm JST).

Title: Development and function of serotonergic neurons in sea urchin embryos/larvae.

 

The Lepage lab presented on Tuesday April 20, 2021 at 7am PDT, 10am EDT and 4pm CEST.

Title: Old friends and new family members: a novel mechanism for activation of the MAPK signalling pathway. 

 

The Wessel lab presented at the inaugural meeting on Friday March 26, 2021 at 7am PDT, 10am EDT and 3pm CET.

Title: Echinoderms Rock!

Background:

Wessel GM, Kiyomoto M, Shen T, Yajima M (2020) Genetic manipulation of the pigment pathway in a sea urchin reveals distinct lineage commitment prior to metamorphosis in the bilateral to radial body plan transition. Scientific Reports 10 (1): 1973. 

Foster S, Oulhen N, Wessel GM (2020) A single cell RNA-seq resource for early sea urchin development. Development 147(17):dev191528.

Perillo M, Oulhen N, Foster S, Spurrell M, Calestani C, Wessel GM (2020) Regulation of dynamic pigment cell states at single-cell resolution. eLife 9:e60388.

Pieplow A, Dastaw M, Sakuma T, Sakamoto N, Yamamoto T, Yajima M, Oulhen N, Wessel GM (2021)  CRISPR-Cas9 editing of non-coding genomic loci as a means of controlling gene expression in the sea urchin. Developmental Biology 472: 85-97.

 

 

 

Last Updated: 2022-05-12